If you have something to celebrate, you’ve come to the right place. The Island has plenty of venues for weddings, parties, fundraisers, and other special events. Whether it’s a vintage lighthouse, a scenic inn, or a private club, it’s all here on Martha’s Vineyard. Some venues will even offer assistance with the planning process, so all you have to do is choose a spot and party down.
Gay Head Light: Perched atop the clay cliffs at the western tip of Aquinnah, the 51-foot-tall brick lighthouse was erected in 1856. The Martha’s Vineyard Museum manages the structure, which was recently moved further inland to protect it from erosion of the cliffs. Though the lighthouse has no real amenities, the view is sublime. The Aquinnah Shop Restaurant, the Outermost Inn, and Philbin Beach are all close enough to walk to.
9 Aquinnah Circle, Aquinnah. 508-627-4441 ext. 11, marthasvineyardhistory.org
Outermost Inn: Nestled near the famous Gay Head Cliffs and adjacent to the equally famous Gay Head Light, the inn offers guests and patrons of the restaurant panoramic views of the Atlantic Ocean. Philbin Beach is a short way away.
81 Lighthouse Road, Aquinnah. 508-645-3511. outermostinn.com
Captain Flanders Inn: Located off North Road in Chilmark, the inn was originally built by an 18th century whaling captain, Richard Flanders, and sits on 60 acres of meadow, pasture, and woodland. In addition to the rooms available at the main house, the inn also boasts a stone cottage and a wooden cottage for lodging. Large wedding tents are frequently assembled in the surrounding fields. Menemsha is a short ride away by car or bicycle.
440 North Road, Chilmark. 508-645-3123, captainflandersinn.com
Beach Plum Inn: Surrounded by several acres of pasture, woodland, and ornamental gardens, this antique inn’s oldest beams and posts are purportedly shipwreck timbers. The inn overlooks Menemsha Harbor, and affords lovely water views. Inn amenities include tennis courts and an acclaimed in-house restaurant. Menemsha Village is only a short walk away.
50 Beach Plum Lane. 508-645-9454, beachpluminn.com
Chilmark Community Center: Located a stone’s throw from Beetlebung Corner in the rural heart of Chilmark, this public building offers a decent-sized space complete with a stage, kitchen facilities, and men’s and women’s rooms. It’s available to Chilmark residents or those sponsored by Chilmark residents. The fee is relatively modest, but it comes with the understanding that in the occasion of a disaster such as a hurricane, the building functions as a designated emergency shelter.
520 South Road, Chilmark. 508-645-2100, chilmarkcommunitycenter.org
Allen Farm: An 18th century working farm set on 100 acres of seaside pasture, the Allen Farm offers one-of-a-kind vistas of the Atlantic Ocean, often with sheep grazing in the foreground. Divided by South Road, the landward side of the farm houses most of the buildings, including the farm’s wool shop. The seaward side is where large wedding tents are erected. During summer evenings, these tents can often be seen glowing in the distance.
421 South Road, Chilmark. 508-645-9064, allenfarm.com
First Congregational Church of West Tisbury: Located at the corner of State Road and Music Street in West Tisbury, this church was originally built just up the road at the town cemetery. It was moved to its current location in 1866. In addition to its traditional organ, the church offers the option of piano music for weddings. The church sanctuary can hold up to 150 people.
1051 State Road, West Tisbury. 508-693-2842, wtcongregationalchurch.org
Grange Hall: Built two years before the Civil War, the Grange Hall and its grounds host art shows, antique markets, and the West Tisbury Farmer’s Market, as well as large private gatherings such as wedding receptions. The spacious building was the site of the Agricultural Fair until the late 20th century, when it was sold to the Martha’s Vineyard Preservation Trust, the entity that still owns and manages it. The Grange Hall is located beside the West Tisbury Town Hall on State Road.
1067 State Road, West Tisbury. 508-627-4440, mvpreservation.org
Ag Hall: With a maximum capacity of more than 1,500 people, this giant wooden structure boasts one of the largest interior spaces on Martha’s Vineyard. With horse corrals and woodlands in the background, the Ag Hall sits in a vast field off State and Panhandle Roads in West Tisbury. Home of the Agricultural Fair and the fair’s host, the Agricultural Society, its amenities include a full kitchen, men’s and women’s bathrooms, and nearly infinite parking.
35 Panhandle Road, West Tisbury. 508-693-9549, mvas.vineyard.net
Lambert’s Cove Inn, Farm, and Restaurant: The grounds of this secluded inn have a beflowered garden specifically designed for weddings. It is planted to ensure colorful blossoms throughout three seasons. Capturing the pastoral romance of West Tisbury, the grounds are also home to a farm with friendly chickens and goats, gardens, and grassy fields enclosed by forest. The restaurant features a farm-to-table menu by Chef James McDonough.
90 Manaquayak Road, West Tisbury. 508-693-2298, lambertscoveinn.com
Vineyard Haven Yacht Club: Set on the edge of Vineyard Haven Harbor, the Vineyard Haven Yacht Club offers members, or those sponsored by members, lovely water views, including the comings and goings of the Steamship Authority ferries. Founded in 1928, the club’s amenities include a full kitchen, numerous outdoor decks, a private beach, and a long pier.
45 Owen Little Way, Vineyard Haven. 508-693-3080, vhyc.org
West Chop Club: Located adjacent to the West Chop Lighthouse in Vineyard Haven, the club offers members, or those sponsored by members, access to three private beaches, 10 tennis courts, eight of which are clay, 21 guest rooms, and picturesque seaside views. Though founded earlier, the club was incorporated in 1965.
162 Iroquois Avenue, Vineyard Haven. 508-693-1005, westchopclubmv.com
Tashmoo Spring Building: An old brick waterworks beside Lake Tashmoo, it began pumping potable water to Vineyard Haven neighborhoods in the late 19th century, and closed about a hundred years later, in 1971. The building has been fully restored from a dilapidated condition and is now managed by the Tashmoo Spring Building Area Management Committee. In addition to the interesting architecture of the pump station itself, the building sits in a lush setting with pretty views of the lake.
400 West Spring Street, Vineyard Haven. 508-693-3100, tisburyma.gov
East Chop Lighthouse: Situated on Telegraph Hill in Oak Bluffs, this cast iron tower was built in 1878. Originally wooden, it was the last lighthouse to be erected on the Island. Though the U.S. Coast Guard owns it, the lighthouse is managed by the Martha’s Vineyard Museum. The lighthouse underwent an extensive restoration in 2007. Beautiful as it is, it boasts practically no amenities, but affords wonderful views.
229 East Chop Drive, Oak Bluffs. 508-627-4441, ext. 110, marthasvineyardhistory.org
Portuguese-American Club: Owned by the Holy Ghost Association of Martha’s Vineyard, this private social club and charitable organization offers two bars as well as spacious kitchen facilities and ample parking. It is located on Vineyard Avenue in Oak Bluffs, not far from Martha’s Vineyard Hospital.
137 Vineyard Avenue, Oak Bluffs. 508-693-9875
Lola’s: With a large parking lot and a large bar, this Oak Bluffs restaurant specializes in foods with southern flair. Live music is offered regularly, but spontaneous dancing can occur at any time.
15 Island Inn Road, Oak Bluffs. 508-693-9057, lolasmv.com
Ocean Park Bandstand: Situated on a vast lawn with Nantucket Sound on one side and banks of Victorian houses on the other, the bandstand in this Oak Bluffs park provides pared-down elegance for a reasonable rate from the Oak Bluffs Parks Commission. Shop-lined Circuit Avenue and the Steamship Authority terminal are nearby.
Seaview and Ocean Avenues, Oak Bluffs. 508-693-0072, oakbluffsma.gov
Union Chapel: Built in 1870, this octagonal structure was designed to be a non-sectarian house of worship from the outset. Owned and managed by the Martha’s Vineyard Preservation Trust, the building can be occupied by up to 385 people. The chapel boasts a soaring cupola, stained glass windows, and superlative acoustics. It is located in Oak Bluffs adjacent to many gingerbread houses.
55 Narragansett Avenue, Oak Bluffs. 508-627-4440, mvpreservation.org
Farm Neck Golf Club: Spread over 500 acres alongside Sengekontacket Pond, this 18-hole golf course in Oak Bluffs was established in 1979. The club boasts its own restaurant, the Farm Neck Café, which in conjunction with a club tent, can accommodate very large gatherings.
1 Farm Neck Way, Oak Bluffs. 508-693-3057, farmneck.net
Sailing Camp Park: Owned by the Patriot Trail Girl Scout Council until 1983, the 16-acre camp and environs are municipal property under the auspices of the Oak Bluffs Conservation Commission. The campgrounds overlook Lagoon Pond, providing a lovely backdrop for ceremonies. The main structure is simple and wooden with high ceilings, a full kitchen, and a beer and wine license.
177 Barnes Road, Oak Bluffs. 508-693-6777, oakbluffsma.gov
Old Whaling Church: The dominant piece of architecture on Edgartown’s Main Street, this Greek revival church was commissioned by a group of whaling captains in the second quarter of the 19th century. The building is now part of the Martha’s Vineyard Preservation Trust. Its features include a Carl Wendte mural recently restored by Margot Datz, a Simmons and Fisher pipe organ, seating capacity for 500, and reception space for 150 in the Baylies Room beneath the main church chamber.
89 Main Street, Edgartown. 508-627-4440, mvpreservation.org
Dr. Daniel Fisher House: Located next to the Whaling Church on Main Street in Edgartown, this Greek Revival mansion is also a Martha’s Vineyard Preservation Trust property. Built for wealthy maritime merchant and manufacturer Daniel Fisher, who in the mid-19th century owned the largest whale oil works in the world, the Fisher House boasts formal gardens, an antiques-laden interior, and capacity for up to 250 people. Numerous shops and the Edgartown waterfront are short walks from the building.
99 Main Street, Edgartown. 508-627-4440, mvpreservation.org
Winnetu Oceanside Resort: Located in Katama adjacent to South Beach, the Winnetu is an expansive vacation and resort complex. It offers in-house wedding planning, in-house catering, extensive lodging capacity (including suites, cottages, and large homes), immediate beach access, and the chauffeured use of several antique vehicles.
31 Dunes Road, Edgartown. 508-310-1733, winnetu.com
Harbor View Hotel: From its rocking chair–lined veranda, this 123-year-old, 114-room hotel has perhaps the best view of Edgartown Harbor and the Edgartown Lighthouse to be had. Receptions can be held in the Edgartown Room, the Lighthouse Grill dining room, or on the lawn under a pavilion tent. Comprehensive in-house wedding planning is available.
131 North Water Street, Edgartown. 508-627-7000, harbor-view.com
Edgartown Lighthouse: Perhaps the Island’s most famous wash-ashore, this cast iron lighthouse hails from Crane’s Beach in Ipswich. It was barged to Edgartown by the U.S. Coast Guard in 1939. The Martha’s Vineyard Museum manages the lighthouse, which — like its Island relatives in East Chop and Gay Head — has no real amenities beyond its beauty.
121 North Water Street, Edgartown. 508-627-4441, ext. 110, marthasvineyardhistory.org
Hob Knob Inn: Nestled in historic downtown Edgartown, this boutique hotel has 43 rooms in its hotel property, as well as the beautifully landscaped Thaxter and Tilton houses, offering potential wedding lodging. The Hob Knob also boasts a spa, various reception areas, an in-house floral designer, and a private chef service.
128 Main Street, Edgartown. 508-627-9510, hobknob.com
Situated on the corner of Cooke and South Summer Streets in historic Edgartown, this early 19th century meeting house can hold upwards of 400 people when employing its balcony for seating. The main chamber boasts a large pipe organ. The church’s adjacent parish house is able to comfortably fit 100 people, and features restrooms, a full kitchen, and a brick patio.
Cooke Street, Edgartown. 508-627-4421, federatedchurchmv.org